azerbaijan armenia georgia
Azerbaijan Armenia Georgia

The northern region consists of a number of different republics inside the Russian Federation, some of which have attained a measure of autonomy, such as Chechnya.

The word “Caucasus”, is reportedly derived from a legendary historical figure named Caucas, ancestor of the North Caucasians. According to medieval oral tradition in Georgia, Caucas was the grandson of Noah who settled in this region after the fall of the Tower of Babel.

This culturally and linguistically diverse region also contains a large mountain range called the Caucasus mountains, a natural dividing line between Europe and Asia. The Caucasus is also home to more 1600 species of plants that cannot be found anywhere else on the planet.

Until the 19th Century when the Russians conquered the territory from the Qajars, the Caucasus was mostly a part of the Persian empire (modern day Iran). Yet parts of this region were under the domination, however briefly, of several other empires including the Eastern Roman Empire (Byzantium), the Scythians and the Mongols. Since 1991 and the fall of the Soviet Union, Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan have been independent. However, the remainder of the region remains a constant source of territorial disputes, especially in Chechnya where the conflict is ongoing.

Most people of the Caucasus are either Orthodox Christian, or Sunni Muslim.

For more information on the Caucasus visit:

  2. I want more information on Georgia (
  3. I want more information on Armenia (
  4. I want more information on Azerbaijan (